Saturday, 22 December 2012

The Beatitudes

The Beatitudes that Jesus uttered are found in the Gospels of Matthew and Luke?
(a) Which Gospel has more beatitudes?
Matthew has more beatitudes than Luke. Matthew has 8 + 1 Beatitudes (the reason for this way of speaking - {namely 8 + 1} – is because the first and the eighth beatitudes in Matthew end with the same predicate/result “theirs is the kingdom of heaven”. The ninth one in Matthew or the +1 is quite different from the first eight) and Luke has only 3 +1 beatitudes and 3 + 1 corresponding woes
(b)                        Which Gospel has woes corresponding to the beatitudes?

No comments:

Post a Comment

You may use the "Anonymous" option to leave a comment if you do not possess a Google Account. But please leave your name and URL as